the temporary death of my writer’s block

I can’t get too excited ’cause I know it’s only a temporary thing, but my writer’s block is dead! Hallelujah! This is truly exciting and wonderful, especially because most things I’ve written in the last 8 or 9 months have felt hopelessly contrived and unfortunately sub-standard; my standard, that is.

Fortunately, I have written some lyrics that I am extremely proud of. I haven’t felt this good about my own work in a very long time. I attribute my pride to the honesty of the piece, and its having lived inside my heart for the last fourteen years of my life. Why it decided to make its rather graceful exit onto paper early this morning, I have no idea, but it has made me consider becoming a lyricist. Or at least writing lyrics on the side of whatever else I happen to be doing with my tangled and creatively ambitious life. I’ve been playing around with the title to these lyrics since very early this morning, and I came up with a few, but I think I’m going to settle on: my words, your melody.

I’m going to post the lyrics on my portfolio site once I decide exactly how to set it all up. I’ve been working on it for the last couple of weeks, doing little bits at a time. It’s going to be the biggest and best collection of my work to date, constantly under construction, and full of interesting insights. It’ll have everything from poetry to plays to short stories to photography on it; anything and everything that I create. It’s all rather exciting. When it’s up and running, I’ll be sure to post the link. I’d love to get some feedback. Creative criticism is always welcome. I used to fear it, and hide my work from people, but now I’m all for it; I just don’t take it personally. *laughs*

And so ends the sudden burst of excitement.

Thank you and good morning!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

