current affairs junkie

In high school, in my spare time – when I wasn’t caught up in all the drama that permeates the teenage years – I was fairly tuned into politics and current affairs. I frequented news websites, was all about celebrity activism (and by celebrity, I mean Bono’s) , and was incredibly anxious to dedicate my life to international development and helping the world become a better place. I think that all of this was largely due to my comfort zone at home, and I felt because I was coming from a good place, and I didn’t have much to worry about, that I could worry about the world. Then – life got tough, and I started worrying about myself and everyone in my immediate proximity a lot more, which meant the temporary death of my interest in the greater good.

Now, since my life has leveled off, and everything has a good balance for the moment (and, let’s face it, I’ve had nothing to do for the last month and a half), I’m face and eyes back into the news. My most frequented websites are as follows: Facebook (because people news is still news!), BBC.co.uk, CBC.ca, and CBC.ca/thehour. On my Mac, my dashboard has daily news from The Guardian UK, as well as Google and dictionary widgets for looking up important information and definitions, and my Google homepage is customized to show more news than foolishness. And, well, you know you have a problem when your Firefox bookmarks are rife with blogs on current affairs, political satire, and the official websites of some of the biggest NGOs on the planet. I’ve got a disease, and it’s due to my boredom, my freedom, and the infectious political banter of George Stroumboulopoulos (I always have to spell his name at least twice before I get it right; drives me nuts). I’m glad there’s someone out there making current affairs cool.

You’ll notice that my news sources are Canadian and British. The only news website from the States that I have in my bookmarks is The Huffington Post, which is actually a political blog, not an official news website associated with a television and radio media giant. Of course, the other American source of news and current events that I wouldn’t give up if someone paid me is Boston Legal. Sure, it’s a TV show, it’s fictional, but it’s so much more than that. James Spader and William Shatner at their best, tackling law and order in modern day America, with all of the best and most interesting current issues at the forefront. It’s a political soapbox with hilarious characters and some of the best writing on television. I highly recommend it.

I’d like to know where everyone else gets their news. For local, Newfoundland and Labrador stuff, I often pop by VOCM, which is perhaps the best and most reliable source for news in the province, other than the CBC. I’m not one for newspapers, it would seem. The print news (here in St. John’s) that I find most engaging is The Independent; that shouldn’t surprise anyone. I’m really looking for honest feedback on this one: where do you get your news, why, and how (print, web, radio, tv, or a combination thereof)? Or, do you not pay attention to the news? If that’s the case, why not? I think one of the best feelings in the world is getting up in the morning and knowing that you know the world that you live in. Being well-informed is both the best offense and defense you can have; beside that, knowing your world helps you grow as a person, and there’s certainly nothing wrong with that.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

