Canada’s green problem: it’s not what you think.

I usually check my news websites in the morning – it’s part of my morning routine, and I like it that way. Technically it’s morning right now, but I randomly decided to swing by CBC in a moment of boredom, and I stumbled upon this: Canada tokes at 4 times world average.

Honestly, it made me laugh a little.

Is there something wrong with the fact that Canadians get lit a little more than the rest of the world? I don’t think so. I’ll be honest and admit: not once have I ever taken a joint in hand. The closest I’ve been to being high is hanging out in my best friend’s bathroom when some friends of hers had the bright idea to try and hot-box it one night. I don’t have a problem with marijuana use – I have friends who use it, I’m pretty sure both my parents and my brother have used it, some of the most intelligent people I know have used it, and it’s one of the least harmful drugs out there. I do think it’s a shame if someone develops a dependence on it because it can wreak havoc on one’s brain and therefore can destroy a lot of potential, but there’s nothing I can do about someone else’s habit – I can just take care of myself, and keep an eye out for my friends while I’m at it. I made a choice, and I stuck with it: I don’t have any desire to do pot. End of story. A few million Canadians seem to enjoy it, and who are the rest of us to judge?

Exactly.

The list of five countries with the highest percentage of marijuana use was interesting. I can’t say that I was surprised, but I’d certainly be curious to see numbers six through ten. When I read the list to my roommate, he remarked that he was surprised the Netherlands wasn’t there because of the rampant use of the stuff in Amsterdam. Maybe it made number 7 or 8 on the list; perhaps it’s worth looking into. In the meantime, it was nice to see that the use of other, harder drugs is average or lower than average in Canada. To me, this says: Canadians appreciate being able to chill out and relax a little more than the rest of the world, but we’re not hardcore, and we’re okay with that.

Now, if we’d only go green in a way that truly matters, we’d be set.

Oh, except for that whole Stephen Harper being Prime Minister thing.

Quick! someone get some green to Sussex Drive! – Harper needs it more than any of us do.  

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

