making up for lost time/all the right reasons

Long time, no blog! I feel like it’s been forever; really, it’s only been a little over a week, but in blog time, that’s a lot. At least, I figure it is.

For anyone who reads my blog on at least a semi-regular basis, you can expect many more entries in the Fall, when I actually have more time to be writing them.

I’ve been working a little bit more than usual, lately, and in my spare time, there’s not a whole lot to do beside read. Read, read, and read some more! While doing all that reading, I’ve learned a lot! My French is getting much better (I’m studying so I can challenge the credit for French 1501), and my knowledge of the world and of politics and such is bubbling over; quite literally! There’s so much in there – it has to come out!

My literary poison as of late has been very war related and includes Catch-22 (which I’m slowly and leisurely making my way through), and a compilation of essays written in the aftermath of September 11th called Voices for Peace. Published in the UK and with proceeds going to War Child, Voices for Peace is an extremely well rounded group of essays, including authors from all facets of society: military generals, political analysts, humanitarians, religious figures, and pop icons (wait! before you scoff about that, know that the pop icon I speak of is Annie Lennox, and her contribution is short, but one of the most powerful in the entire book). While I feel like I’ve just written a plug for this book, it’s honestly really amazing. The insights that the authors lend, the stories they tell, repeatedly knock me off my feet. Every time I read another essay, or prose piece, or story, it reminds me of how sheltered and happy a life I have led in the mere twenty-two years I’ve been around, but also that I, too, have a voice; that my thoughts, opinions and dreams for the world matter, just as much as anyone else’s.


I had made the decision a long time ago that I – as a person, as a member of society – did not matter; that nothing about me mattered much, and no one would bother listening to me, even if I did have something to say. The truly unfortunate part about having made this rather uninformed decision is that my voice lay dormant for a very long time, when it shouldn’t have. I should have been saying something. Rest assured, I’m ready to make up for lost time.

Writing this blog has been a big part of making up for that lost time. If you haven’t noticed by now, I’ve been writing about/blogging on anything that I feel is important, or any current issue that incites passion in my heart.  I figure that everyone should do that, even if it’s just to let go of some of that passion/rage surrounding whatever issue it might be that’s effecting you. My intention, of course, is to better my writing skills by writing regularly, and to (hopefully) make some of the people around me more aware/more likely to say or do something than they might have been before. “If I can reach one person, I’ve done my job”: my mom, concerning why she became a Special Education teacher; that’s my philosophy on blogging and passing on my knowledge/the knowledge of others: if one person can reach one person can reach one more person, the whole world would know! and that’s a goal worth striving for.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

