the day’s brainless activity

Every time I write an entry like the last one (and the one before that, for that matter), I feel the need to post something that requires a little less thought — for my own sake, as well as for the sake of anyone who may be keeping up on me and my little blog that could (or can, as it were).

Every day, I get an email in my ridiculously ancient Hotmail address that contains “My Inspirational Quote” of the day. Monday through Friday, I wake up to some sage (or not-so-sage) bit of wisdom from someone-or-other who evidently must know what they’re talking about, as they’ve been quoted in this most excellent subscription-based email service.

…whoa, that was a little more cynical sounding than I meant it to be!

Anyway, I particularly liked today’s quote, and so I thought I would share it.

“The grand essentials of happiness are: something to do, something to love, and something to hope for.”

-Allan K. Chalmers

While I have no idea who Allan K. Chalmers is, I don’t really care. I think what he said makes a whole lot of sense, and it’s particularly applicable to my life at this moment in time. Simple truths like this one make me think that perhaps that little bit of hope in my inbox every morning actually does do me a bit of good.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

