Capt. Wednesday and the Ampersands

It’s Wednesday!

Do you know what that means? It’s time for Captain Wednesday and the Ampersands’ post.

“What the Hell does that mean?!”

Well, my dear friends, it means pop culture and fun things, possibly film-related and posh things. There’s a reason that I call the Wednesday post “Captain Wednesday and the Ampersands” — it’s because a friend of mine has a blog called Ampersandology (which I’m totally plugging here right now — go and check it out, it’s a great bit of fun!), in which she writes about film, pop culture, and many other excellent things. Since I really enjoy those things as well, I decided it would be a neat idea to dedicate a weekly post to writing about similar things, while also regularly reminding everyone that they should check out Jillian’s blog.

I’m not going to be stealing the things she writes about, of course, as I couldn’t possibly do them the justice she does, but it really doesn’t hurt to have a bit of pop culture in one’s life. Especially in the middle of the week, when a pop-culture-pick-me-up can do a whole lot of good.

 

For this week, I can’t help but blog about this new show Castle that I’ve been watching. My roommate Kayla tipped me off to it last week when I was laid low with “the sickness” (I may or may not have had H1N1 — fun times!), and I devoured the first season and caught up in the second season in a matter of two days. My favourite thing about the show, of course, is Richard Castle (as played by the rather charming Nathan Fillion), and his witticisms. As a lover of good words and good stories, I can’t help but love a guy who makes it his business to make sure his books are as good as they can be. That and, as he says, “I really am ruggedly handsome, aren’t I?”

Beyond that is the really hilarious and obviously sexually frustrating relationship between Castle and his muse: the lovely Detective Kate Beckett (whose name never fails to make me think of Samuel Beckett — am I the only one?). One can never really get enough of the “you know they’re going to get together at some point and it’s totally delicious watching them both squirm” sort of relationship, and these two rarely disappoint.

The other thing that I love about this show is that it’s filled with excellent female characters. Kate Beckett being the most obvious, then Castle’s teenage daughter Alexis, and his mother Martha. These three all kick ass in some way, and yet they’re vulnerable, funny, and witty, too. I can imagine that Nathan Fillion is having a grand time being surrounded by awesome women on a regular basis. It certainly doesn’t hurt the quotient of women who will be more likely to watch the show because of the relationships Castle has with these three women: he’s clearly attracted to, and in awe of, Beckett; he encourages Alexis to have fun and is always understanding of her; and while he teases and rolls his eyes at his mother, Martha, they’ve set up that relationship to be both respectful and loving, not to mention really hilarious.

…one wonders whether the whole show is written to make the entire female audience fall completely in love with Castle (and Fillion, by extension). I must confess that it’s working on me!

One thought on “Capt. Wednesday and the Ampersands

  1. How did I miss this?

    Thanks for the plug–it never does hurt, does it?

    Lovely post. I’ve heard good things about Castle; mostly, though, about Fillion’s performance. He’s a jack of all trades, that one, never failing to be completely charming even when playing creepy priests or amoral space cowboys. Oh, who are we kidding: especially when playing creepy priests or amoral space cowboys.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

