Excuse me, Sarah, could you pass me that copy of Nabokov?

Dearest GW,

Well, today has been a lesson in “people who frustrate me”, and I’m just about to explode.

So, what do I do when faced with the frustrations of my own life? I go out and look for things in the world that just frustrate me more, of course! There’s nothing that cures frustration like more frustration. And really, who doesn’t love re-directing their frustration and anger toward something they feel less keenly and therefore can attack more freely? It’s the best medicine, next to laughing your ass off at your foolish friends over drinks. Since I don’t have the latter, I’m going straight for the former, and in doing so, have recruited Sarah Palin’s book “Going Rogue” as the target of my frustration.

I read on The Book Bench that Palin’s “Going Rogue” and Nabokov’s “The Original of Laura” were released at the same time: 12:01 am this morning. I thought you might get a kick out of that fact. Either that, or you’d think it was terribly sad. I certainly think it has an odd poetic twist to it, “Okay world, let’s see which controversial book fares better — the classic or the Conservative!” Sadly, I wouldn’t be surprised if Palin’s book did better at some registers than did Nabokov’s. I do take comfort in the longevity and classic quality of Nabokov’s writing, though; in the long run, Palin will be a blip and the collection of writing that Nabokov apparently wished destroyed will triumph. All things in their own time, I suppose.

In the meantime, as if Palin didn’t annoy me enough already, the snippets of the book I’ve seen and read about are probably making even Palin supporters lose their appetites. In fact, I came across an interesting little guest blog on NPR that gives a Conservative’s opinion on the book, and he says:

Sarah Palin is selling a personality, not a platform. That’s not dumb. She’s doing the best she can with what she has to work with. She quotes her father’s line upon her resignation this summer as Alaska’s governor: “Sarah’s not retreating, she’s reloading.” On evidence of this book, Sarah Palin is charging toward 2012 shooting blanks.

I think that’s a fairly apt way of stating affairs, don’t you? In case you’re interested, you can find that blog here.

It’s interesting that I’m not entirely sure what your opinion is of Palin, though I can imagine what you might say about her. I always like to imagine what I would say to public figures if faced with the opportunity to have their ear for a moment. In her case, I think it would be “but a moment”, and I would likely say: “Excuse me, Sarah, could you pass me that copy of Nabokov?”

Much love to you, sir.
Sara

One thought on “Excuse me, Sarah, could you pass me that copy of Nabokov?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

