The Sounds of Silence

Well, I never!

I woke up this morning only to be misinformed about something very important: the release date of a piece of music history. I receive a daily email that has an interesting fact and a so-called inspirational quote in it. I usually really love reading them first thing in the morning as it starts my day off on a positive note. My positive note went flat when I realized (after very little research) that this morning’s fact was wrong!

According to this email (and the people who write it, I suppose), The Sounds of Silence was released in 1965, which is not true at all! It was actually released on January 17th, 1966. When I discovered this discrepancy I thought, “Well, that’s not such a big fudge-up, I suppose; but it would make a great Fact-Fueled Friday blog!” (That’s me, right? Always looking on the bright side.)

In the meantime, it did remind me that Simon & Garfunkel (which should always be written with an ampersand, as far as I’m concerned), are always better together. You know, like wine & cheese, or Coke & chips, or Sunday afternoon & a good book: one is just made better by the other. What’s that expression, again? Oh yes, their whole is greater than the sum of its parts.

I remember actually studying two songs from this record as poems in school: “I am a Rock” and “The Sounds of Silence” both were stamped upon my impressionable brain in the classroom, the former in Grade 8 (and possibly again in Grade 10, though I’m not sure if I’m remembering that correctly), and the latter in my Grade 12 Literary Heritage class.

“I have my books and poetry to protect me” … gee, does that remind you of anyone? Or perhaps yourself.

 

I particularly love “The Sounds of Silence”. Art Garfunkel’s little introduction to it in this video is perfect, really.

“The words of the prophets are written on the subway walls.”

One thought on “The Sounds of Silence

  1. it did remind me that Simon & Garfunkel (which should always be written with an ampersand, as far as I’m concerned)…

    Allow your resident ampersand obssessee to shed some light.

    You are absolutely correct! In modern usage, the ampersand doesn’t actually replace ‘and’; rather, in North American, it’s most often used to pair names in titles (Gilbert & Sullivan, Simon & Garfunkel) or in a business name (Putnam, Putnam & Powell). Also, it’s used in commercial signage quite a bit.

    Hey, it could be worse: in Germany, it is strictly verboten.

    Ampersandology, OUT!

    ps. hi Sara!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

