Homesick Sunday

Well, I’ve been strangely on hiatus this week, and I find this to be rather unfortunate. Since I don’t normally post on Sundays, I thought I would get a head start on the new week today, and write a bit about this, that, and the other thing, too. Sometimes, I don’t have a whole lot of anything particular to say, but I like to blog anyway. Today, I will deem Homesick Sunday Miscellany day, and with any luck, be witty and charming enough for someone to take notice.

There’s a reason I call Sundays “Homesick Sundays” — I get wickedly homesick, and I inevitably end up doing something that reminds me of home, or keeps my mind off how much I miss my family. My approach is different every week, but it usually includes reading, writing, TV, or movies (or some combination of all of those things). Of course, I’d like to be reading, writing, watching TV and movies every day, but it’s not a perfect world.

Here in the city today, we’ve got some serious snowfall in our hands, which makes this particular Homesick Sunday better than most because it means I don’t have to feel bad for not getting out in the world, or bothering to get out of bed much. I slept in until a glorious (or obscene, depending on your perspective) hour, and then I decided that I would mosey on over to my favourite online TV site and watch some episodes of Castle, since that’s clearly become something I do when I’m not obligated to do anything else (yeah, I’m a total sucker for the show; keep reading for more ramblings on that).

Castle is the TV show that apparently makes its audience want to read. I mean, it’s not much of a push to make me want to read, but when I come across a TV show with a handsome, witty writer as its main character and then find out that they’ve released the book he’s been working on in the show in bookstores, it’s kinda hard to resist wanting to read it. I almost braved the weather to go to the mall and buy the book this afternoon, out of sheer curiosity. The thing is, the book is essentially written about the characters in the show, and so it’s a great extension of the show, as well as being a great marketing ploy and a way to keep people hooked — if it’s successful, that is. On top of all that, it’s a great way to get couch potatoes off their bums and into the bookstores, and perhaps entice them to become repeat offenders and pick up some more page-turners. Not only that, of course, but there are a lot of references to books, famous authors and literary genres in it as well. There are references to Edgar Allen Poe, David Mamet, and Frank Miller, just to name a few (and that’s only in one episode). It’s delightful for people who are already familiar with literature (like English majors, *ahem*), because it’s a giant inside joke, but it’s also really neat for people who don’t know, who will perhaps go and find the authors and genres mentioned and read them. GASP! Wild accusatory thought: publisher/literati conspiracy to get people to read?! BAM!

…well then, I think that thought proves that I have indeed been watching too much Castle, as it reminds me of something he would say. Well done, Inkpen; well done.

In other book-related news, I have decided that I might pick up some scary-ish books to read in the not-too-distant future. I’ve been reading this book called The Historian, and I really enjoy the way it’s gotten under my skin and pushes me to read more. I generally dislike things that scare me, but this is a seriously interesting book, and it’s so subtly terrifying that if I’m home alone reading it and I hear the slightest little noise, I jump. Oh, and it’s a vampire novel that’s actually a vampire novel and not one about sparkling emo people; that’s a bonus.

With all this snow happening today, it’s got me listening to Christmas music and thinking about how lovely it will be to have some time off this year. I’m delighted to be going home for Christmas, and I’m even more delighted to know that my mother has been kind enough to pay particular attention to my list this year, and as such, I can expect some fun stuff under the tree. One of the things I’ve asked for this year is Michael Chabon’s new book Manhood for Amateurs. I really love the way Chabon writes, and from the press that I’ve seen about this new collection of essays, it’s going to be a really great read. I’ve also asked for a book called In Praise of Slow by Carl Honore that’s all about slowing down your life and having a better quality one as a result. I’m really interested to read that one because I’ve never been a person who liked to rush and do too many things, but the whole world around me seems to be in a mad dash to do 504 things at once. I hope this Carl person knows what he’s talking about, and then I can perhaps feel better about not having accomplished a million things by the time I reach twenty-five and relax without wondering what the Hell else I should be doing with that time.

Speaking of which, I think I will go and relax and try not to care that I’m not doing something productive. S’okay? S’okay.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

