Watching Glee really gets the heart rate up

Okay, so the credits for the Sectionals episode of Glee ran only 7 minutes ago, but my heart is actually still pumping with excitement. I admit, I’m a total sucker for the show, and I can’t help that a bunch of drama-ridden teenagers with amazing voices can get me this wound up. What this show has that other shows don’t is spirit, and there was a whole lot of it in tonight’s episode.

Part of the reason I started watching Glee in the first place was my very tuned-in and turned-on roommate, and I’ve got to thank her for that. Wednesday nights from 10:30 to 11:30, I forget about everything else and settle in for some pure, unadulterated joy (with fake pregnancy and awesome vocal talent, to boot). There are some great shows on TV right now, but Glee is something completely different, and it seems like people are really responding to it. It’s no wonder, though, because it’s like a stylish soap opera theatre class with all of the over-the-topness, love triangles and hit pop songs that you can possibly take. That, and the characters (though laughably stereotyped at times) are people we all want to believe in. There are elements of everyone in those kids (and the teachers, too), and I for one cannot help but root for them.

One of the things that I think really works for this show is that it works with emotion and song; like any good musical does, it pulls on your heart-strings because we hear music on a different emotional level than we do speech. Emotions are more compelling when they’re belted out with breath that ignites from the very core and picks up speed and heat at the heart, only to fly out the mouth and into the ears of an audience. Music as a shared experience is actually one of the most compelling things I’ve ever witnessed or been a part of, and putting that into a hip, drama-filled TV series is actually a completely brilliant idea.

I don’t really ever have anything to say about the characters and who I want them to be with, or what I want to see happen. I know the chemistry they’ve created, I know the story arcs, and I can predict with reasonable accuracy the outcome of certain situations that arise within the episodes; somehow though, none of that matters even a little bit. I still enjoy every moment of the show, and I still get excited when the things I knew were going to happen, happen. I don’t know about any of you, but I think that’s fairly impressive.

What I also love about this show is that it has actually captured the hearts of so many people who I expected, given their taste, not to like it.  It sneaks up on you, that’s for sure.

There’s not much more to say about it, really, except that I hope it keeps going, and that people don’t stop believing, if you get my drift.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

